Skip to content

CAuthors’ experiences with NaNoWriMo

December 1, 2006

From the NaNoWriMo Site:

“National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.”

From Judy Bagshaw

rom “NaNoWriMo is coming to an end and I’m still about 15000 words from the goal of 50000. A lot has to do with my crazed life at the moment. House selling, house buying, and all that those entail. It eats into my energies and my time. But no excuses, eh? lol

So, a bit about my efforts. I’m trying my hand at horror for the first time, and floundering in the unfamiliar waters, although, on the other hand, it’s been an interesting challenge. I decided from the start of NaNo, that I wouldn’t worry about anyone ever seeing this work, so that takes the pressure off somewhat. I chalk it up to being a learning experience.

Now, if I could just reach the goal! -Judy B.”

From M. D. Benoit

“I’d been in a writing slump and needed a kick in the butt to start writing again. NaNoWriMo certainly did this for me. But writing seven days a week, an average of 2,500 words a day (I finished in 20 days) took its toll, not only on my tired brain, but on my poor hands and fingers.

I’m not a fast writer, even though this competition is focussed on quantity, not quality, it’s very difficult for me to write total crap. So I spent six to seven hours at the computer.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the experience and it did get me writing again. I’m excited about the project, another Jack Meter Case File. -M. D.”

From Beverley Bateman

“I signed up for Nano on a whim on October 31st because I heard about a lot of people doing it and I thought – why not give it a try?I was a little nervous because I wasn’t sure I’d be able to write that many words.Unlike Dom, I’m a fairly fast writer and I don’t worry too much about the editing part.Like many have said – you can edit or revise what you have written but not a blank page.I wrote quickly at the start because I thought I might not follow through and the better the headstart the better chance of finishing.I wrote about 2500 – 3000 words a day and wrote about 2 1/2 to 3 hours a day.At night I sometimes did a little editing but that doesn’t count for Nano.I did miss 2 days of writing because life interfered but I still finished around Day 20 which was wonderful because I don’t know if I could have kept up the pace. I wrote a total of just over 53,000 words and now I’m doing the rewriting, editing and revision and hope to actually mail it off to an editor by the end of the year.
Good luck Judy – still one day left. I’m sure you’ll finish.” –Beverley

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

